Voting sites open through 7 p.m. today

by Meghann Garcia, managing editor

Candidates galore vying for governor, Lt. Governor, U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, and a host of judicial and other state posts join Uvalde County residents seeking their respective party’s nomination Tuesday, the official election day for the Republican and Democratic party primary elections.

Election day may seem anti-climactic with early balloting having started Feb. 20 and ending two days ago on Friday at 7 p.m., but when Tuesday’s voting tallies are added to ballots generated over the last two weeks most fields will be set for the Nov. 6 general election.

While voters may choose to vote in either the Republican or Democratic primary, regardless of party affiliation or preference, they may vote in only one party primary.

The Uvalde County Republican Party has recorded only one contested race, but the Uvalde County Democratic Party is fielding multiple candidates for contested races.

Candidates receiving more than 50 percent of the vote during their party’s primary election on March 6 will continue to the Nov. 6 general election.

If any candidate in a multi-field race fails to obtain a majority vote, the two candidates with the highest vote totals will vie in a runoff election set May 22.

Where to vote

All Uvalde County polling precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

Uvalde-area residents who live within the boundaries of precincts 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 12 will vote in the Cactus Room of the Willie De Leon Civic Center, 300 E. Main St.

Precinct 13 residents will vote at Community Health Development Inc., 908 S. Evans in Uvalde.

Voters in Precinct 2, Sabinal, will vote at the Sabinal Public Library, 305 N. Center St.; Precinct 3, Utopia, Utopia Senior Center, 22542 Ranch Road 187; Precinct 4, Concan, Concan Community Building, Highway 127; Precinct 6, Montell, Montell Community Building, Highway 55 North; Precinct 11, Knippa, Emmanuel Lutheran Church, 250 S. Farm to Market Road 1049; and Precinct 14, Reagan Wells, Heard School, Farm to Market Road 1051.

Voters need some form of photo identification unless they cannot reasonably obtain a photo ID. Acceptable photo IDs include a Texas driver’s license, Texas election identification certificate or personal identification card issued by Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas handgun license, U.S. military ID card, U.S. citizenship certificate or U.S. passport.

Contested local races

Three people are seeking the Democratic Party’s nomination for County Commissioner for Precinct 4. They include incumbent Commissioner Raul T. Flores and challengers Lena “Marina” Garcia and Ronald “Ronnie” Garza.

The victor will face sole Republican Party candidate Pete Conrad in November.
Incumbent Uvalde County clerk Donna M. Williams is being challenged by Valerie Del Toro Romero for the Democratic Party’s nomination. No candidates are listed for the Republican Party.

Incumbent Uvalde County Commissioner Mariano Pargas Jr. is being challenged by Alberto Mireles for the Democratic Party’s nomination for the Pct. 2 seat. No candidates are listed for the Republican Party.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Neto Luna, who represents Pct. 6, has two challengers in Mario A. Valdez and Roland Sanchez for the Democratic Party’s nomination. No candidates are listed for the Republican Party.

Ernie Moore and James O’Bryant, both residents of Utopia, are seeking the Republican Party’s nomination for Justice of the Peace Pct. 3.

The victor will face incumbent Bill Schaefer in November. Schaefer is unopposed in his quest for the Democratic Party’s nomination.

For the list of state-wide and regional/district candidates, please see the Feb. 18 edition of the Uvalde Leader-News. Sample ballots are on Page 16, and related stories are on pages 7 and 12.

- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard

- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard

- Advertisement -
First State Bank Billboard
- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard