Who’s in and who’s out?

Romero wins clerk’s race in Democratic Party primary

Meghann Garcia

Managing editor

Candidate fields are set locally and statewide for the November general election. Uvalde County clerk Donna M. Williams and Commissioner Raul T. Flores did not receive the Democratic Party’s nomination for a re-election bid in November, but fellow incumbents Commissioner Mariano Pargas Jr. and Neto Luna retained firm support of the electorate.

The only other contested race on the county level was on the Republican Party ticket, where Utopia/Concan area voters chose Ernie Moore over James O’Bryant to represent the party in November against incumbent Pct. 3 justice of the peace Bill Schaefer.

Moore received 193 votes to O’Bryant’s 112.

Schaefer did not have an opponent for the Democratic Party’s nomination.

Uvalde County’s voter turnout was 22.88 percent, with 3,844 (out of 16,798) registered voters participating in either the Republican or Democratic party primary. In 2016, a presidential election year, primary voter turnout was 33 .41 percent. In 2014, another non-presidential primary election year like this one, the turnout was 22.10 percent.


The of rest this story is restricted to subscribers only.
Already registered? Login below
Already a subscriber: Click here to add digital access.
Click here to purchase a subscription.
Buy 3 Days of Online-Only Access for $1.95

Remember me (for 2 weeks)

Forgot Password

- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard

- Advertisement -
REK Billboard

- Advertisement -
First State Bank Billboard
- Advertisement -
REK Billboard