Schools thank governing board members for efforts

Melissa Federspill

Staff writer

Members of school district boards of trustees are celebrated every January during school board appreciation month for their dedication and efforts towards bettering educational programs in their communities.

Area school districts include Uvalde, Knippa, La Pryor, Nueces Canyon, Leakey, Sabinal and Utopia.  The Texas Association of School Boards deemed this year’s theme as “Launching the Next Generation.”

Uvalde Consolidated Independent School District board members include president Javier Flores, vice president Luis Fernandez, board secretary Rob Fowler, and members Roland Sanchez, Laura Perez, Anabel White and Elissa Gonzalez.

During the Jan. 20 school board meeting, UCISD Superintendent Hal Harrell recognized each board members for their service, and following the ceremony trustees were treated to gifts, and a cake and punch reception. Students also made thank-you videos for the members.

In Sabinal, school board trustees include president Bob Nunley, vice president Bernie Garcia, secretary Andres “Tito” Guevara III; members Karen Davis, Mike Hawkes and Raquel Esquivel.

Superintendent Richard Grill said the district gave the trustees a steak dinner, and members of the student council presented them cards of appreciation.

“Our school boards are volunteers who shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all without pay. Their goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district,” said Grill. “Celebrating school board recognition month is one way to say thanks for all they do.”

In Knippa, board members include president Ted Sanderlin, secretary Merlynn Verstuyft; and members Larissa Rodriguez, Ross Thompson, Sterling Shimp, Alan Klaus and Jimmy Smith. To celebrate, the district hosted a dinner for the board members on Jan. 9, prior to the district’s monthly board meeting.

Board members in Utopia include president Steve Darden, vice president Wayne Moore, secretary Betty Boyce; members Jena Smothers, Chase Hathorn, and Shirley Dibbens. In celebration, the Utopia barbecue team made the members ribs, chicken, and sausage, said Superintendent Jessi Milam, adding that students also made them cards, valentines, and other trinkets.

In La Pryor, board members include president Marcel Valdez, vice president Eric Dube, secretary Alejandro Perez; members Juan Pedro Lopez, Lorena Lopez, Joe Ramirez, and Ernesto Salazar.

Board members in Leakey include president Jerry W. Bates, vice president Alberto Gonzalez, secretary Tammie Dugat; members Brett Rimkus, David Satterwhite, Jayme Wooten, and Doug Shoemaker.

In Nueces Canyon, celebrating the board members was a consolidated effort by students and staff.

“Our members were presented with gifts, along with the donuts and a robotics presentation by the gifted and talented students. Our cafeteria manger prepared cookies for them, and students and teachers showed appreciation,” said Kristi Powers NCCISD superintendent. Board members include president Danny Irwin, vice president Mark Martinez, secretary Noreda Sifuentes; and members Ignacio Sanchez, Clint Luce, and Benito H. Carbajal IV.

- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard

- Advertisement -
AutoWorld Uvalde

- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard
- Advertisement -
HNB Billboard